settling

No, I don’t mean settling in, or settling down. I mean settling FOR – as in, I’ve been looking for a perfect (fill in the blank), but I guess I’ll just settle for (insufficient substitute).

Like my water bottle.

For almost a month now, I’ve been on the look-out for a double-walled water bottle that I can keep in my purse (double-walled equals no condensation – yaya!). I’ve seen several wonderful options, all over $30 – mostly the aluminum or stainless steel variety. But I just couldn’t justify spending that much on a water bottle, right?

So I settled. For this bottle, found at Wal-Mart:

Nice, right? It was only about $5, double-walled, and I added this pretty little paper to the inside, just for kicks. Peachy.

Until disaster struck.

Note the contents of my purse: sopping wet cardigan, wet fan, and wet i-pod running thingy. The culprit?

Flip-open straw. Opened in my purse, spilling all of my water into said purse. No condensation, of course. However, much worse results:

No cardi to keep me warm at work, PLUS it’s stained red from this guy:

Not good. Bad things happen when we settle for substitutions rather than the thing we know will ultimately satisfy us…(enter conviction).

Hmmm, maybe I’m supposed to learn something from this? *gulp*

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Stacey on August 31, 2011 at 9:18 pm

    What a great lesson. I love all the photo documentation. Great blog post, friend! Way to go with your blogging! Keep a bloggin… 🙂 Love you!

    Reply

Leave a comment