Louisiana

Yes, I’m in the state of Louisiana right now, awaiting the security check to open so I can enter one of the 4 gates in the tiniest airport known to man – all to travel home to the GREAT state of Texas (PTL). I have been sitting in the lobby of the subway, the only restaurant in the airport, for almost an hour and a half. Mine is the only flight leaving this evening…so basically I’ve been alone for a LONG time. What better reason to update the ol’ blog, hmm?

I realize that we (sure, I’ll include husby as a co-writer) have been remiss by ignoring our numerous blog fans (blans?) and not updating you on the things we said we would, so here we go:

1. THE RACE – we did it! Phillip ran the marathon in just over 3 hours, and I ran the half in just under 3 hours! That’s right, it took me almost the same time to run half the distance. Ashamed? No way, I have the fastest husby ever, and I’m so proud of him! It was a really fun and unique experience, as we were able to start (almost) together, and finish (almost) together, and my sweet parents were there to cheer us on. So fun! Phillip had some post-race issues with his knee, but he’s back up to 3 miles now, and continues to improve daily.

2. SOXER – I’m a little concerned today, because she woke me up several times last night trying to cough up a little hair-ball, and has not been eating the last couple of days. So we’re trying some new hair-ball goo (I know most of you have stopped reading by now, so I’ll try to get through this quickly) and are hopefull that she will return to her normal chipper self. She had been gaining weight the last month or so, which is great. We like a tubby kitty.

3. HOUSE – We’re applying for our mortgage, and looking at houses! Yay! That’s really all the news for now, but we’ll soon have a realtor, and can narrow down neighborhoods.

And then there’s number 4 – IRA. Never in my life have I seen such real-life examples of the parables than in our experiences with Ira. We’ve been learning more and more about the common phrase – give ’till it hurts. Finding out that in our experience, it hasn’t been hurting in the ways we expected, but in much more painful and personal ways: our marriage, our patience, our pride, our time…our faith. We’ve felt the hurt of unrealized expectations, lost time with one another, differing ideas, feeling like “parents” to someone my mom’s age, and feeling lost as to how to proceed. Trusting that the Lord has a purpose in our relationship with Ira is one thing, trusting that we’re following the Lord in our giving – completely different. We continue to struggle with this, and will continue to lift this to our sovereign and powerful God – please keep with us in prayer! We NEED it! Pray that God would open Ira’s heart to His word and love, and pray for us to open our mouths in faith, as well as to keep our hearts open to him without fear of rejection. *sigh* It’s been a long road, and will continue to be so. But we praise God that we’re continuing on in His strength, and that He is SO gracious to provide!

Welp, the security gate’s open. Time for all 6 passengers to board! Who doesn’t want to leave LA in a prop plane anyway?

Leave a comment